The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is how the government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. Children’s early years experiences should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure, and support their development, care and learning needs. Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child, and was developed with a number of early years experts and parents. It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills.
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress. Expected levels that your child should reach by age 5, these are usually the end of the reception year, these expectations are called the early learning goals(ELGs).

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but is suitable for very young children and is designed to be flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. these are:

  1. Communication and Language.
  2. Physical Development.
  3. Personal, Social and emotional development.

These prime areas are most important for a child’s development and future learning.

As children grow the prime areas help them develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  1. Literacy.
  2. Mathematics.
  3. Understanding the world.
  4. Expressive arts and design.

Children learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking.

Once a week we have ‘Diddi Dance’ as an extra curricular activity for our Owls room, this is a unique fusion of dance styles, coordination and freedom of movement.


Owlets room have Sing and Sign classes. 

We also have a set art class weekly

Special educational needs

We have a send policy which all staff and parents are required to read. Local authorities have a local offer  which gives support to those with disabilities and special educational needs and their families. link to the local offer below: